The Commonwealth

What is the Commonwealth?

Student of CMS Gomti Nagar Campus giving a brief introduction to evolution and objectives of The Commonwealth

The Commonwealth is made up of 53 countries around the world The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of independent countries spread over every continent and ocean. Its 2.4 billion people account for more than 30 per cent of the world’s population, and are in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean and Americas, Europe and the Pacific. They are of many faiths, races and cultures.

What does the Commonwealth do?
  • It promotes partnership and co-operation among its members
  • It promotes understanding and tolerance among its citizens
  • It reduces prejudice, ignorance, disease and poverty
  • It promotes democracy and good governance, sustainable economic and social development, respect for human rights and the rule of law, gender equality and protection of the environment.
What is Commonwealth Day?

Commonwealth Day is an annual celebration of the Commonwealth association and its members. Focusing on a different theme each year, it takes place on the second Monday in March. Its purpose is to promote understanding about global issues, international co-operation and the work of the modern Commonwealth.

Tentative Programme

The Commonwealth of Nations

Antigua & Barbuda Australia The Bahamas Bangladesh
Barbados Belize Botswana Brunei Darussalam
Cameroon Canada Cyprus Dominica
The Gambia Ghana Grenada Guyana
India Jamaica Kenya Kiribati
Lesotho Malawi Malaysia Maldives
Malta Mauritius Mozambique Namibia
Nauru New Zealand Nigeria Pakistan
Papua New Guinea Rwanda St. Kitts & Nevis St Lucia
St. Vincent & the Grenadines Samoa Seychelles Sierra Leone
Singapore Solomon Islands South Africa Sri Lanka
Swaziland Tonga Trinidad & Tobago Tuvalu
Uganda United Kingdom United Republic of Tanzania Vanuatu

Contact Us


Gomti Nagar Campus I
Vishal Khand-2, Lucknow, U.P., INDIA
Phones: 0091 - 522 - 2394740